What is TUM DataTagger?
Your solution for collaborative and efficient research data management at TUM.
Simply add information to your data.
This empowers your scientific data
- to be understood
- to be found
- to be used
by you and your collaborators - now and also in five or ten years.
Key features are
- file storage
- file sharing
- file documentation
- file versioning
Have a common file storage for you and your project partners, and define how the project's data should be described.
Start with an initial storage limit of 50 GB per user, which can be expanded as needed upon request.
Login
The first version of TUM DataTagger is available now:
Login for external project partners*
*Externals need to be added to a project to receive an invitation email with login information.
Contact
For questions or feedback, feel free to use our feedback link
or contact the TUM DataTagger-Team by mailing to:
Further Information
News
To stay informed, click on the eye icon (“Beobachten”).
12.08.2026 Release of version 1.4.0 Aventurine
The new version of TUM DataTagger makes your data better findable and re-usable. Check out the latest features:
- Dashboard
- Find immediately the projects you have worked on lately
- Get an overview of your DataTagger contents
- Advanced search
- Make use of your rich documentation and find your files by their metadata
- Combine several search filters to find precisely what you are looking for
- Export of projects and folders
- Download all your data together with their metadata and re-use it somewhere else
- Import/export for metadata templates
- Create a metadata template by importing your existing metadata collection
- Export a metadata template to re-use it in a different DataTagger project
12.05.2026 New feature: Bulk fill-in metadata fields
Save time and fill in metadata fields for multiple files at once.
→ Start a bulk edit in your folder, select files, and fill in template fields
30.04.2026 New feature: File deletion in folders
If you uploaded a file by mistake into a folder, you now have a 24h period to delete it, provided it has not yet been used by other users.
→ Delete your recently uploaded file(s) from a folder via bulk edit
