Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

LRZ Linux Cluster Overview

The LRZ Linux Cluster consists of several segments with different types of interconnect and different sizes of shared memory. All systems have a (virtual) 64 bit address space:

  • CooLMUC2 Cluster with 28-way Haswell-based nodes and FDR14 Infiniband interconnect, used for both serial and parallel processing
  • Intel Broadwell based 6 TByte shared memory server HP DL580 "Teramem"
  • CooLMUC3 Cluster with 64-way KNL 7210-F many-core processors and Intel Omnipath OPA1 interconnect, for parallel/vector processing
  • IvyMUC Cluster with 8-way Ivy Bridge-based nodes and FDR14 Infiniband interconnect, used for parallel processing

Based on the various node types the LRZ Linux cluster offers a wide span of capabilities:

  • mixed shared and distributed memory
  • large software portfolio
  • flexible usage due to various available memory sizes
  • parallelization by message passing (MPI)
  • shared memory parallelization with OpenMP or pthreads
  • mixed (hybrid) programming with MPI and OpenMP
  • No labels