Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Warning: Never move top-level folders into each other!

Possible errors:

  1. Deleted files and subfolders are always recovered (despite multiple deletions).
  2. After moving files from folder X to Y, different version states occur in both folders or the moving is undone.


Procedure for regrouping top-level folders

Example situation - there are four top-level folders which have been synchronized with the LRZ Sync+Share client:
  • Top-level folder 1
  • Top-level folder 2
  • Top-level folder 3
  • Top-level folder 4


New desired folder structure:
Note: The former top-level folders 1 to 4 should be subfolders of the newly created top-level folders A and B.
  • New top-level folder A
    • Folder 1
    • Folder 2
  • New top-level folder B
    • Folder 3
    • Folder 4


Brief description

To get the new desired folder structure you first have to disconnect the synchronization of top-level folders 1 to 4 in the LRZ Sync+Share client (see FAQ 125: Stop synchronization of a top level folder, option 1). Then the local folders can be moved to the newly created top-level folders A and B.

In the new structure, the four folders are no longer S+S top-level folders but only subfolders of top level folders (→ FAQ 131: What is a top level folder in LRZ Sync+Share?). With LRZ Sync+Share it makes a big difference if a directory is a top-level folder or not. In general, the top-level folders are the first (and thus parent) level in the LRZ Sync+Share base path. The LRZ Sync+Share client maps these folders under default settings locally on the PC under C:\Users\<username>\LRZ Sync+Share.


Preparations

  1. Ownership must exist for the top-level folders 1, 2, 3 and 4.
  2. The synchronization of the local files must be complete.
  3. Make a backup copy of the relevant data. Keep in mind that existing invitations/shares to folders 1 to 4 will be lost during this process. If necessary, make a note of the names of the LRZ Sync+Share users who have read-only or read and write permissions or also admin rights.

Conversion of the folder structure

  1. To do so, you can proceed as follows: In the LRZ Sync+Share client first disconnect the synchronization with folders 1 to 4.
    1. To do this, right-click on a folder in the client window and then click "Stop Sync". In the now appearing window click on "Stop Sync".
    2. Delete the local metadata as well (→ FAQ 125: Stopping synchronization of a top-level folder).
      1. Top-level folders with separate synchronization are displayed in gray in the client.
  2. Repeat the procedure from step 1 to disconnect synchronization for folders 1 to 4.
  3. Then create the new top-level folders (in this example: "Folder A" and "Folder B").
    1. To do so, click on "Create Folder" in the LRZ Sync+Share client and create the folders in the LRZ Sync+Share base folder.
    2. The new top-level folders can only be created sequentially, i.e. one after the other.
    3. At the end you should see two new top-level folders in the LRZ Sync+Share client with active synchronization (yellow).
  4. Now delete the top-level folders (folders 1 to 4) online on the Sync+Share server.
    1. To do this, right-click on the folders 1 to 4 excluded from synchronization in the client interface and select the "Exit Folder" option.
    2. Alternatively, you can also delete the top-level folders in the web interface at https://syncandshare.lrz.de.
  5. Now move the folders 1 and 2 locally on your PC into the "Folder A" and the folders 3 and 4 into the "Folder B". The LRZ Sync+Share client should now start synchronizing the local data to the LRZ Sync+Share server. Depending on the size of the data volume this may take some time. Note: Make sure that you have a stable internet connection with high upload bandwidth.

Follow-up

If you want other S+S users to have access to the newly created top-level folders, invite them now (see also FAQ 111: How exactly do invitations work?).

Note: Invited users who have lost access to a folder will be warned by a yellow warning triangle in the client. FAQ 320 describes how to clear the notification message and how to solve the problem.


Related contents