Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Important to know! When using the LRZ Sync+Share client!

Moving subfolders out of the local LRZ Sync+Share base path is interpreted as deletion by the LRZ Sync+Share client.

The deletions are first synchronized to the server and from there to all other active clients.


The deleted data can be restored on https://syncandshare.lrz.de via the "Papierkorb" / "Recycle bin" (→ see FAQ 132).


Pitfalls when moving files or subfolders out the base path

The default base path for data storage within the LRZ Sync+Share top-level folders is:

  • Windows: C:\Users\<username>\LRZ Sync+Share
  • macOS / Linux: /home/<username>/LRZ Sync+Share


Moving subfolders out of the LRZ Sync+Share base path

MoveC:\Users\maxmustermann\LRZ Sync+Share\top-level folder 1\Subfolder

to

C:\Users\maxmustermann\Desktop\Subfolder
Result

Subfolder on the LRZ Sync+Share server is deleted!

If the subfolder is moved in the file explorer of the operating system, the LRZ Sync+Share client considers this as a deletion.

The deleted data can be restored on https://syncandshare.lrz.de via the "Papierkorb" / "Recycle bin" (→ see FAQ 132).


Moving top-level folders out of the LRZ Sync+Share base path (client versions ≤ 15.X)

MoveC:\Users\maxmustermann\LRZ Sync+Share\top-level folder 1

nach

C:\Users\maxmustermann\Desktop\top-level folder 1
Result

Top-Level folder 1 is no longer synchronized.

In the client interface, the folder icon is displayed in gray (→ FAQ 125).


Tip for shared top-level folders

For shared top-level folders, you can change access permissions from "Read+Write" to "Read", if not absolutely necessary. This can reduce the risk of inadvertent deletions.


Related contents