What happens to projects of deleted User IDs?
When a user's ID is deleted, the user will also be locked out of GitLab and will not be able to log in again. Projects and groups that belong to this user are still preserved for six months in GitLab. After that, they are permanently deleted.
If one or more groups or projects of the user are to remain active, they must be transferred to another active GitLab user before the User ID is deleted.
In order to keep a group active, simply enter another user in the member list of the group with the role owner. The same applies to projects within the group: please enter at least one active user as owner in each project.
If a user's personal project is to remain active, we recommend moving the project to a group. The group can also be created specifically for this purpose. The transfer takes place in the advanced settings of the project (Project Settings → General → Advanced → Transfer Project). After moving the project to the group, please enter the still active GitLab user as one of the owners in the group and the project. Alternatively, the project can be exported (Project Settings → General → Advanced → Export Project) and passed on to the still active GitLab user who can import the project (New Project → Import Project → Import Project from GitLab export).
Especially in the case of public projects we recommend organizing the projects into groups.
Are projects backed up? How can I recover a deleted project?
LRZ generates daily backups of the complete GitLab instance. These backups are stored on a separate storage system and regularly checked for integrity. However, these backups only serve to restore GitLab after a critical error. The entire GitLab instance is reset to the time of the backup. Restoring individual projects during operation is currently not possible.
Recovering repositories that have been deleted by the user is possible within seven days, provided the project already exists in the backup. However, only the Git repository itself can be restored, whereas issues, merge requests and snippets will be lost after deleting the project.
What is the SSH key fingerprint of GitLab?
The first time you connect to GitLab from a terminal / command prompt on your PC (for example, if you want to clone a project or write changes to the repository), you will probably be asked for the authenticity of the host you want to connect to. The fingerprints of the LRZ GitLab can be found on its instance configuration page.
Can I collaborate with people on GitLab who do not have a LRZ/TUM/LMU User ID?
Yes, this is possible with GitInvited.
GitInvited was developed to give external cooperation partners access to GitLab. Each user who logs in to GitLab using an LDAP account (for example, LRZ, TUM, or LMU identifier) has a contingent of 20 invitations. These invitations can be sent to any email address via GitInvited. The email address must not be registered in GitLab prior to the invitation.
User accounts created through this method have the status
external user in LRZ GitLab. That means among other things, that they are not able to create their own projects or groups. See GitLab Permissions Dokumentation for details.
The user who sent the invitation (hereinafter referred to as the "Parent User") is linked to the invited user ("Child User") in the GitInvited database. This ensures that external users can be contacted by LRZ through their Parent Users.
If a Parent User is blocked in GitLab (for example because their ID has expired), all Child Users they are responsible for will also be blocked. This can only be prevented if those users are migrated to a new Parent User. This can only be done by the GitLab administrators. Please ask the new Parent User to contact the LRZ Servicedesk.
Although GitInvited and GitLab can be reached under different URLs, the services communicate with each other. When logging in for the first time, you will be redirected between the applications via the OAuth login procedure.